DEARBORN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING January 3, 2023 9:00 a.m. Henry Dearborn Room Dearborn County Government Center 165 Mary Street, Lawrenceburg, Indiana

CALL TO ORDER- Jim Thatcher, President, Art Little, Rick Probst,

Sue Hayden, Administrator, Connie Fromhold, Auditor, Andy Baudendistel, Attorney.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

TITLE VI STATEMENT FOR COMPLIANCE- Read by Andy Baudendistel.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARDS

Election of Board President-

Motion to Elect Jim Thatcher as Commissioner President by Art Little, seconded by

Rick Probst, motion passed.

Department Heads

Administrator / ADA & Title VI Coordinator – Sue Hayden Animal Control Director – Marlene Underwood Attorney – Andy Baudendistel Building Inspector – Bill Shelton Emergency Management Director – Jason Sullivan Engineer – Todd Listerman Highway Superintendent – Tim Greive Maintenance Director – Eric Hartman 911 Director – Jared Teaney

Motion to re-appoint Department Heads by Rick Probst, seconded by Art Little, motion

passed.

Board Appointments:

Solid Waste- Jim Thatcher, Art Little, Rick Probst Drainage Board- Jim Thatcher, Art Little, Rick Probst Board of Finance- Jim Thatcher, Art Little, Rick Probst Commission of Public Records-Jim Thatcher Emergency Management-Rick Probst Juvenile Board- Jim Thatcher Personnel Advisory-Jim Thatcher Plan Commission-Jim Thatcher Region 9 Workforce-Art Little Southeastern Indiana Regional Port Authority – SIRPA Jim Thatcher Justice Reinvestment Advisory Council – JRAC Rick Probst

Motion to approve appointments by Art Little, seconded by Rick Probst, motion passed.

Citizen Board Appointments:

911 Communications Board – *(table until after Fire Chief's January meeting)* Alcohol Beverage Board – Jim Dole Aurora Public Library – Sue Manford & Angela Burkhardt Health Board – Dr. Steven Eliason, Mike Hankins, Jill Tibbe MD Planning Commission – Joe Vogel Property Tax Assessment (PTA BOA) – Jodi Wolf & Mark Hardebeck

Motion to approve appointments by Rick Probst, seconded by Art Little, motion passed.

Redevelopment -- Jim Mansfield is a retired Insurance Agent and a member of the Bright

Business Association.

Motion to approve appointment by Rick Probst, seconded by Art Little, motion passed.

Regional Sewer District –Steward Cline, Russell Beiersdorfer are new candidates for the Sewer Board. The terms of Dennis Folke and Robert Lishkge have expired.

Commissioner Probst wanted it known that Robert Lischkge is the only representative from his District, which is District 3. He feels strongly that Robert Lischkge should be re-appointed. Jeff Stenger the Council appointment for the Sewer Board spoke in support of Dennis Folke and Robert Lischkge. Wants to know why they are not being re-appointed. He is open to all questions about the work that they are doing. These gentlemen bring common business sense to the table. Brett Fehrman said he is very proud of the projects they have done, problems they have solved and the people they have helped. They rely on the county for all funding. He feels that Dennis Folke and Robert Lishkge are vital to the board. They served for several years and provide a variety of different functions. Robert Lischkge wanted to let the Commissioners know he is willing to serve. Commissioner Probst thanked him for his service. Commissioner Thatcher spoke on the two new members. They would be strong additions to the Sewer Board.

Motion to not re-appoint Dennis Folke to the Sewer Board by Art Little, seconded by Jim Thatcher opposed by Rick Probst; motion passed.

Motion to not re-appoint Robert Lischkge to the Regional Sewer Board by Art Little, seconded by Jim Thatcher opposed by Rick Probst; motion passed.

Motion to appoint Steward Cline to the Regional Sewer District Board starting in 2023 by Art Little, seconded by Jim Thatcher, Rick Probst opposed;

motion passed.

Motion to appoint Russell Beiersdorfer to the Regional Sewer District Board starting in 2023 by Art Little, seconded by Jim Thatcher, Rick Probst opposed; motion passed.

OLD BUSINESS:

ARPA Committee Recommendation to BOC (tabled)

Andy Baudendistel recommended taking this off the agenda until further notice.

<u>Weather Advisories from 12/22/22 Winter Storm</u> - Jason Sullivan Motion to approve Weather Advisories from 12/22/2022 through 12/26/2022 by Rick Probst, seconded by Art Little, motion passed.

ADMINISTRATOR - Sue Hayden

Certification of Nepotism - Sue Hayden has sent them out, all but 3 have been returned.

2023 Emergency Medical Services Contracts – Aurora, Bright, Greendale, Manchester, and Lawrenceburg.

Motion to approve by Art Little, seconded by Rick Probst, motion passed.

AUDITOR -

Claims- Motion to approve by Rick Probst, seconded by Art Little, motion passed.

Payroll- Motion to approve by Art Little, seconded by Rick Probst, motion passed.

Minutes- Motion to approve by Art Little, seconded by Rick Probst, motion passed.

ATTORNEY - None

COMMISSIONER COMMENTS-

Rick Probst- Wants Board of Finance meeting scheduled.

Art Little- Watch out for the kids they are back in school.

Jim Thatcher- Hopes 2023 is a better year.

LATE ARRIVAL INFORMATION- None

PUBLIC COMMENT- None

<u>ADJOURN-</u> Motion to adjourn by Art Little, seconded by Rick Probst, meeting adjourned at 9:42am.

Attest: Connie A Fromhold, Auditor

President, Jim Thatcher the

Art Little

(

Richard M Probst